Banner Image Missing
Cultural Division Awards $45,000 to Three Artists in Broward
- South Florida Cultural Consortium Exhibition Opens September 17 -

BROWARD COUNTY – The South Florida Cultural Consortium (SFCC) announces 12 awards to distinguished South Florida artists through its 2021 Visual and Media Artists Program. The Consortium, an alliance of the arts councils of Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe and Palm Beach Counties, has recognized three artists from Broward County, seven from Miami-Dade County, one from Palm Beach County, and one from Monroe County with awards at either the $15,000 or $7,500 level. These awards are among the largest such honors accorded by local arts agencies to visual and media artists in the United States.

The 2021 Broward artists receiving SFCC awards are: Harumi Abe, Zoraye Cyrus, and Catalina Jaramillo. Each of these artists received $15,000 from the Broward Cultural Division.

Also receiving SFCC awards are: Yanira Collado, Mark Fleuridor, Carla Forte, Juan Pablo Garza, Francisco Maso, Jared McGriff, and Sasha Wortzel from Miami-Dade County; Sally Binard from Monroe County; and Sofia Valiente from Palm Beach County.

Celebrating 33 years, the SFCC has awarded over $4 million in grants to more than 300 artists. In addition to receiving the grant, artists take part in an exhibition hosted and organized by a visual arts institution in one of the five counties. (Information about the upcoming application deadline can be found at the end of this document.)

Works by the 2021 SFCC award winners will be featured in Under the Florida Sun: South Florida Cultural Consortium Visual and Media Artists Fellowship Exhibition, on view at Florida Atlantic University Galleries from September 17 through October 30, 2021. The exhibition is curated by independent curator Mikhaile Solomon and will be accompanied by a publication. FAU University Galleries are located at 777 Glades Rd, Boca Raton, FL 33431.

The 2021 SFCC artists were selected through a two-tier panel process by regional and national arts experts who included: Dejha Carrington, Strategic Communications, National YoungArts Foundation & Co-Founder, Commissioner (Miami-Dade); Meaghan Kent, Curator of Exhibitions Art & Culture Center/Hollywood (Broward); Rene Morales, Director of Curatorial Affairs and Chief Curator, Pérez Art Museum Miami (Miami-Dade); Ates Isildak, artist, SFCC 2020 recipient (Palm Beach); and Kara Walker Tome, independent curator (Palm Beach).

Submissions selected by the regional panel were forwarded for final adjudication and selection to the national panel comprised of: Daniel S. Palmer, Curator, Public Art Fund New York, NY; Grace Deveney, Associate Curator Prospect, New Orleans, LA; and Jeffrey De Blois, Assistant Curator and Publications Manager, Institute of Contemporary Art/Boston, Boston, MA.

The South Florida Cultural Consortium is funded with the support of the Boards of County Commissioners of Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade and Monroe Counties, and the Cultural Council of Palm Beach County.

Upcoming Application Workshops

Artists who reside and work in one of the five counties are invited to attend one of three free virtual application workshops to learn how to apply for the South Florida Cultural Consortium Fellowship. 

Workshop Dates:

The deadline to apply is Monday, December 13, 2021. Additional information and application is available here.

The Broward Cultural Division advances arts and culture throughout greater Fort Lauderdale by investing in the creative sector and providing capacity building opportunities for artists, organizations and creative talent through events and activities that fuel Broward’s creative infrastructure. The Cultural Division includes the county’s Public Art & Design program, as well as grant programs that provide over $4.5 in annual support for Broward-based cultural organizations and artists, and engages the community in education and advocacy initiatives that support arts education at the local, state and federal levels. For more information on programs, grants, calls-to-artists and more, visit

The South Florida Cultural Consortium is a regional initiative in support of the arts governed by an Interlocal Agreement among the counties of Broward, Martin, Miami-Dade, Monroe and Palm Beach. The Consortiums members are the local arts agencies of these five counties, including the Broward County Cultural Division, the Arts Council of Martin County, the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs, the Florida Keys Council of the Arts, and the Cultural Council of Palm Beach County. The Consortium works to foster cooperation across the South Florida region to help develop and promote the work of cultural organizations and artists and the audiences that they serve. Its programs and services range from the Visual and Media Artists Program to regional arts education and cultural tourism cooperative ventures. The South Florida Cultural Consortium is one of the most successful regional arts alliances in the nation, demonstrating that by sharing resources and best practices, the arts can thrive across a burgeoning five-county area.

September 17, 2021
 Meredith Clements
Broward Cultural Division